Additional information needed?
rpuhalla@juno.com
Tuition

Adult Driving Lessons

One (1) session - $60

Three (3) sessions - $180 

Six (6) sessions - $360

  Six (6) sessions plus the use of the DTA vehicle for the DMV road exam- $480*

*Client must be judged competent by the instructor to use the vehicle for the road exam

Sessions are 90 minutes in length

Instructional Support Training Services

Created in Japan in 1997, ISTS has owned and operated the “Driver Training Academy” since 2007 and most recently, opened an "Adult Learning Center".

 

Both businesses are located at 3312-A Campbell Avenue in Kapahulu and can be easily reached by taking Bus routes #2, #13, and #3. 

Schedule

Adult Driving Schedule

Monday-Friday:  7:00am, 9:00am, 11:00am,                                                 and 1:00pm

Saturday:  7:00am, 9:00am, 11:00am, and 1:00pm

Sunday:  8:00am, 10:00am, 12:00pm, and 2:00pm

Holiday times vary

Richard Puhalla
ISTS Owner/Operator

Richard Puhalla, MS Ed., is a certified Hawaii Department of Transportation (DOT) Driver Education instructor.  He also holds a Hawaii Teaching License and is employed by the Department of Education as well as Remington College in Honolulu.

 

Mr. Puhalla's forty (40) years of teaching and administrative experience includes working in four countries, the CNMI, and in two states on the mainland.  In August 2013, he and his family relocated to Hawaii.

 

Most recently, Mr. Puhalla developed the Driver Education Program for the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, writing the Rules and Regulations for the Mandatory Driver Education Law and the exams currently in use by the CNMI Bureau of Motor Vehicles.

 

His driving credentials and experience include operating school buses, metro transit buses, large box-type delivery trucks, automobiles, and motorcycles.

In The News
    Effective January 9, 2006:
 
  • The minimum age to obtain an Instruction Permit remains at 15½ years of age.
 
  • A Provisional License may be issued at 16 years of age.
 
  • A Driver License may be issued at 17 years of age.
 
  • Applicants between the ages of 15½ through 17 years of age must possess a valid Hawaii Instruction Permit for a period of 180 days, and, while operating a motor vehicle be seated next to a person who is at least 21 years of age and licensed to operate the same type of motor vehicle. However, between the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m., the supervising parent or guardian must be seated next to the minor driver.
 
  • Applicants must not have any pending violations that may result in suspension or revocation of either the Instruction Permit or Provisional License.
 
  • To obtain a Driver License at 17 years of age, you must have held a Provisional License for a period of six months.
 
  • Upon reaching the age of 18 years, you have until your 19th birthday in which to convert your Provisional License to a Driver License. Failure to do so will subject you to be processed as a new applicant.
 
  • Note: If your Provisional License expires on a weekend or State holiday, you must convert to a Driver License by the last working day prior to the expiration date.
Study Guides

 

 

CNMI Study Guide $25

 

Still available

   

Hawaii Study Guide

Free

 

for students enrolled in the classroom program

 

 

Listed on the Defensive Driving.org and Expertise.com as one of the top ten driving schools in Honolulu, HI